Skip to main content
/ Exhibitions / 2020 Faculty Biennial

2020 Faculty Biennial

January 24, 2020 – May 2, 2020(This exhibition has passed.)

It’s not the kind of thing that happens every year, so when the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts offers the public a comprehensive glimpse into the ordinarily private, multidisciplinary studios of Appalachian State University’s Art Department, it’s always a cause for celebration.

Mission of the Faculty Biennial

The Faculty Biennial showcases the work of Appalachian State University’s multi-disciplinary faculty with exhibitions at the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts and the Smith Gallery located in the Schaefer Center for Performing Arts. Providing direct engagement with current creative and scholarly research, the exhibition initiates critical dialogue about the nature of contemporary art. This exhibition offers student interaction with faculty artists while also providing other faculty and staff at Appalachian State University and the Boone community meaningful opportunity to learn about the many creative ideas and art practices being explored and taught within the university.

The College of Fine and Applied Arts’, Faculty Biennial is a collaborative exhibition program organized by the Smith Gallery and the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts.

Mission of the Department of Art at Appalachian State University

“TO US, ART AND DESIGN ARE MANY THINGS. They are the voice that speaks louder than words. They are the muses, the calls of the siren and the taskmasters. They bring us together and push us deep inside ourselves to chase the elusive. They challenge us, drive us, and make us achieve the impossible. They are our life.”

Martin Church, Image #2

Martin Church, Image #2

Featured artists

Turchin Center for the Visual Arts

  • Adam Adcock
  • Catherine Altice
  • Bailey Arend
  • Greg Banks
  • Andrew Caldwell
  • Jenelaine Carson
  • Martin Church
  • Rosa Dargan-Powers
  • Travis Donovan
  • Erin Ethridge
  • April Flanders
  • Tom Hansell and Josh White
  • Lori Hill
  • Ed Midgett
  • Stephen Parks
  • Ila Prouty
  • Lila Shull
  • Lisa Stinson
  • Tricia Treacy
  • Andrea Vail
  • Cheryl Zibisky

Smith Gallery

  • Anna Buckner
  • Andrea Keys Connell
  • Keela Dee Dooley
  • Frankie Flood
  • Tim Ford
  • Mike Grady
  • Victoria Grube
  • Brooke Hofsess
  • Ann Pegelow Kaplan
  • Jeana Klein
  • Scott Ludwig
  • Mark Nystrom
  • Beverly Poppe
  • Jody Servon
  • Albert Stabler
  • John Stepheson
  • William Struss
  • Jim Toub
  • Josh White
  • Chip Williams and Anne Ward

Additional resources