Craig Fisher, Rights of Spring (Edition of 7), 2008. Aquatint on Chine collé with inkjet. The Halplert Biennial 2009. Recipent Of Juror’s First Place Award & Purchase Award.Image courtesy of the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts and the artist.

The Halpert Biennial '11: a national juried competition & exhibition

The following information about this past Turchin Center exhibition is kept here for archival purposes only. This exhibition is not currently on display. View current and upcoming exhibitions.

Friday, July 1, 2011
Saturday, December 3, 2011
Main Gallery

Juror's First Choice: Justin R. Webb (Elk Park, NC); Untitled "Bonaparte". Oil on canvas. Image courtesy of the artist.

Juror's Second Choice: Dorothy Griffith (Linville, NC); Robin 1/9. Photograph. Image courtesy of the artist.

Juror's Third Choice: Kathleen Madigan (Nashville, TN); Butterfly. Fabric and zipper. Image courtesy of the artist.

Purchase Award: Dan Lobdell (Lancaster, PA); River Landscape (10RI16). Archival pigment print. Image courtesy of the artist.

Purchase Award:Mickael Broth (Richmond, VA); Ash Return. Pen, ink and collage on paper. Image courtesy of the artist.

Purchase Award:Deneé Black (Raleigh, NC); Boylan Buildings. Mixed media on canvas. Image courtesy of the artist.

Juror: Steven Matijcio, Curator of Contemporary Art, Southeastern Center for Contemporary Art (SECCA)

The Halpert Biennial '11 is a national, juried, two-dimensional art competition and exhibition program designed to recognize new works by emerging and established artists residing in the United States. Serving as this year's juror is Steven Matijcio who serves as the curator of contemporary art at the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Art (SECCA) in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. This program is an part of An Appalachian Summer Festival and is made possible through a generous endowment from Buddy & Charlotte Halpert and is dedicated to the couple's memory. This exhibition has grown to feature some of the most exciting new visual art in the country and focuses on a range of art including paintings, drawings, prints, photography, mixed media and works using traditional and non-traditional materials.

The awards for the competition amount to $5,000 and include two Juror's Awards, a Director's Award, as well as multiple Purchase Awards that allows the expansion of The Halpert Biennial Collection within the Turchin's Permanent Collection.

2011 Competition winners

On Sunday, July 17, 2011, Juror Steven Matijcio led a gallery walk discussing the juror's process and announced the winners of the competition. This years winners include:

Juror's First Choice
Justin R. Webb (Elk Park, NC); Untitled "Bonaparte"; Oil on canvas
Juror's Second Choice
Dorothy Griffith (Linville, NC); Dove1/9 and Robin1/9; Photograph
Juror's Third Choice
Kathleen Madigan (Nashville, TN); Butterfly; Fabric and zipper
Purchase Awards
Dan Lobdell (Lancaster, PA); River Landscape 3 (10RI16); Archival pigment print
Mickael Broth (Richmond, VA); Ash Return; Pen, ink and collage on paper
Deneé Black (Raleigh, NC); Boylan Buildings; Mixed media on canvas

2011 Exhibiting artists

Out of 430 submissions by 147 artists, the juror's selection includes 68 works of art by 48 artists. These artists are:

  • Dave Alsobrooks (Efland, NC)
  • Kristin Ashley (Winston-Salem, NC)
  • Jerry Atnip (Nashville, TN)
  • Geoffrey Ault (Washington, DC)
  • Dianne Baker (Buffalo, NY)
  • Kevin Benisvy (Jamaica Plain, MA)
  • Deneé Black (Raleigh, NC)
  • Aaron Blum (Pittsburg, PA)
  • Mickael Broth (Richmond, VA)
  • Joe Burleson (Roan Mountain, TN)
  • Les Caison III (Greensboro, NC)
  • Emily Clare (Winston-Salem, NC)
  • Julia Clift (Carrboro, NC)
  • Louis DeLuco (Novato, CA)
  • William T. Dooley (Northport, AL)
  • David Dorsey (Pittsford, NY)
  • Marjorie Durko Puryear (Montrose, AL)
  • Bryan Florentin (Dallas, TX)
  • Jenny Freestone (Takoma Park, MD)
  • Carl Gombert (Maryville, TN)
  • Carly Greene (Swannanoa, NC)
  • Susan C. Gregory (Charleston, SC)
  • Dorothy Griffith (Linville, NC)
  • Leslie Hirst (Pawtucket, RI)
  • Constance Humphries (Asheville, NC)
  • Rowan James (Ten Mile, TN)
  • Carmella Jarvi (Charlotte, NC)
  • Dale Klein (Cambridge, MA)
  • Dan Lobdell (Lancaster, PA)
  • Neil Loughlin (Washington, NC)
  • Kathleen Madigan (Nashville, TN)
  • Leigh Moose (Creedmoor, NC)
  • Cindy Murray (Orlando, FL)
  • Daniel Nevins (Asheville, NC)
  • Bongkyun Noh (Centreville, VA)
  • Jim Pearson (Lawrenceville, IL)
  • Kurney Ramsey Jr. (Swansboro, NC)
  • Craig Screven (Dayton, OH)
  • Darron R. Silva (Granite Falls, NC)
  • Gregory L. Smith (Banner Elk, NC)
  • D. B. Stovall (Rockville, MD)
  • Ineke Thomas (Blowing Rock, NC)
  • Carole Usdan (Vilas, NC)
  • Justin R. Webb (Elk Park, NC)
  • Erin Wiersma (Manhattan, KS)
  • Michael Zakely (Charlotte, NC)

Juror's Biography

Steven Matijcio is the curator of contemporary art at the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Art (SECCA) in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. He is a graduate of the Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College, New York and has held positions in a number of important galleries and museums including the Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art, the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, the Art Gallery of Ontario, and the National Gallery of Canada.

Matijcio's curatorial practice is consistently cross-disciplinary, extends from the historical to the contemporary, and was recently honored with a 2010 Emily Hall Tremaine Exhibition Award. He has also lectured on theory and criticism at the University of Manitoba, written for numerous catalogues and journals (including the Guide to the 27th Sao Paulo Bienal), and was commissioned by the Robert Mapplethorpe Foundation to curate one of their first online exhibitions. He continues to remain active as a curator, writer, professor, and researcher.

The Halpert Biennial '11 brochure

Download the Halpert Biennial '11 brochure (PDF 906.62K)

Visit the Halpert Biennial '11 on view until December 3rd and pick up a complimentary copy of the Halpert Biennial '11 brochure. Preview the works of art that won awards and read what juror, Steven Matijcio had to say about the exhibition. Can't make it to see the show? Download a digital version (PDF 906.62K) or e-mail for a mailed copy.

More information

Find us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterTurchin Center on FlickrTurchin Center on Instagram

Join our Email List

Receive emails about upcoming events and exhibitions as well as occasional invitations through the U.S. Mail.

Join Now

Gallery hours

Make an immediate gift to the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts. Use our online giving form.

Or, mail your gift to...

Turchin Center for the Visual Arts
ASU Box 32139
Boone, NC 28608

View all giving options